Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

Refreshing Orange Muffins

Do you guys make lists as often as I do?

orangemuffin1

It’s literally insane how many lists I make. I have the attention span of a hungry toddler, so if I don’t write down every little thing that I am thinking about or need to get done, it is gone within five minutes. Writing lists has helped me stay on track (slightly) and keep my thoughts organized (somewhat).

Anyways. I’m currently in the middle of making a huge list of things that I would love to accomplish over the summer. And I’m eating one of these muffins, because it is totally putting me in the summer mindset.

I have so many strange and ridiculous things that I would love to get done. Like finally finish the Aurora Borealis painting that I started months ago and has been sitting in the corner of my room unfinished.
I really should clean out my car, but let’s be honest. That probably isn’t going to happen.
I am hoping to have a few lazy summer nights where I can finally watch popular movies that I have never seen (Pulp Fiction? The Godfather? Star Wars?).
And we’re vacationing in Cabo! So I’m hoping to have plenty of adventures there.
Maybe I’ll get another tattoo (sorry, parents).
And I’m hoping to create plenty of delicious things to share with you guys. Here’s the first of many!

orangemuffin3

Makes about 18 muffins.

  • ½ cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ⅔ cup milk
  • ⅓ cup freshly-squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tsp. orange zest
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3-4 small oranges for decoration
  • coarse sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 375℉.

Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, about 7 minutes. Add eggs and orange zest. Sift together dry ingredients and set aside. Add milk to butter and sugar mixture and mix until well combined. Add about half of dry ingredients, then add orange juice and mix well. Gradually add remaining dry ingredients and mix just until batter comes together. Scoop batter into greased or lined muffin tins, filling each about ⅔ full. Slice small oranges into VERY thin slices, then cut each slice in half. Press an orange slice into the top of each muffin, then sprinkle with coarse sugar. Bake about 15-20 minutes.

orangemuffin2

Do you guys have any exciting summer plans or goals?

One comment on “Refreshing Orange Muffins

  1. emilybarlean
    May 28, 2013

    I am such a list maker too! Oh, and these are gorgeous. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

