Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

Walnut Brownie Cookies

What is up with the weather lately?

It seems like every time I have it figured out, it changes on me again.
For example. Yesterday, it was raining and so foggy that I couldn’t see fifteen feet in front of my car. But when I drove home from work today, the thermometer in my car read 93℉.

Not that I’m complaining in the slightest. Weather in San Diego is beautiful regardless of the temperature.
And I’m one of those fools who actually really enjoys the rain. It doesn’t happen too often here, so I really appreciate when it does. I find it so relaxing. Plus it’s an excuse to curl up in a blanket with a cup of tea and a plate full of warm cookies.

I made these cookies as minis because I love everything mini (and I don’t feel as guilty eating so many). But these can be made as regular-sized cookies as well. All you need to do is replace the mini chocolate chips with regular-sized chocolate chips.

Makes three dozen mini cookies.

  • ½ cup butter, room temperature
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup plus 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup plus 2 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • ¾ cup AP flour
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 cup finely chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350℉.
Cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg and mix well. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and baking powder and gradually add into butter mixture. Mix until just incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips and chopped walnuts. Scoop onto a greased baking sheet and bake 5-8 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

