Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

My Favorite Pancakes.

I promise I will be back to posting recipes on the regular very soon.
But I’m tired, you guys.

I’m in the middle of a ten-day stretch at work. Working ten days in a row is not that bad in and of itself. But I wake up at 4:15 a.m. every morning. So yeah, it’s a little draining.
I adore my job. But I love weekends because, well, I don’t have to wake up at 4:15 a.m.

I love the weekend. I get so much done that I can’t get done during the week. And I get to make breakfast! And I know I have already written about how much I love breakfast. I love getting to enjoy my coffee in the morning instead of having to chug it before I leave. And I love being able to catch up on all my favorite shows that I missed during the week. (I don’t know if any of you watch New Girl, but it is killing me right now. I think I’m in love with Nick Miller.)

I’m addicted to pancakes right now. It’s been my go-to weekend breakfast food for the last few weeks, alongside some soy bacon and a steaming hot cup of coffee. Or iced coffee. I go back and forth.
Anyways. I’m already craving these pancakes for this weekend. It’s helping take my mind off of, well, how little sleep I have been getting.

This is my favorite pancake recipe, and it lends itself well to customization. I’ve been doing blueberry lately, but the possibilities are endless. I’m thinking banana and chocolate chips for this weekend.

Serves two.

  • ⅔ cup AP flour
  • 4 heaping tbsp. old-fashioned oats
  • heaping 1 tsp. baking powder
  • scant ½ tsp. baking soda
  • heaping 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • dash of vanilla extract
  • about ½-¾ cup almond or soy milk
  • ½ cup blueberries (or add-in of choice)

Heat a skillet over medium-low heat and spray with nonstick cooking spray or add a tablespoon of butter and let melt over entire skillet. Mix flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Pour in milk and vanilla extract. The batter should be thick, but almost pourable. If too thick, add milk 1 tbsp. at a time until batter reaches desired consistency. Fold in add-ins. Pour batter onto skillet in 3 mounds. Spread slightly with a spatula. When bubbles form on surface, flip pancakes. Cook until golden brown.

20130205_075513I hope everyone has a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

