Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

Mexican Spaghetti

I’ve been trying to eat super healthy for the past few weeks. As much as I hate to think about it, bathing suit season is coming up.
And as you know, I have a slight obsession with carbs. As in, I want to eat carbs every day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Oh, and dessert too. I like dessert.
But loving carbs and dessert makes me really hate bathing suits.

So I’ve been trying to eat really healthy to prepare myself for summer. But last week, I really needed some carbs for dinner.
Plus it was date night, and I’m not going to make my boyfriend eat salad with me. And I’m not going to sit and eat salad while he gets to eat a big, delicious bowl of pasta. That’s totally not fair.
So I took a break from the health food for a night and made this pasta dish.
I mean, it has some vegetables in it, so it’s technically healthy! Right?

Humor me on this one.

Serves 4-6.

  • ½ of an onion, diced
  • ¼ cup red pepper, diced
  • ¼ cup green pepper, diced
  • ⅛ cup yellow pepper, diced
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ¼ tsp. pepper
  • ¼-½ tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1½ cup sharp cheddar cheese
  • ½ lb. noodle pasta, like spaghetti or fettuccine

Preheat oven to 350℉.

Cook pasta according to package directions. Combine onion and peppers, then stir in cream of mushroom soup. Stir in spices and 1 cup cheese. Fold in cooked spaghetti and mix well. Add up to ½ cup pasta water if consistency is too thick. Pour into 8×8 inch baking dish and top with remaining ½ cup cheese. Bake until bubbling, about 20-30 minutes.

20130324_181752

I regret nothing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

