Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

Beer Bread Dinner Rolls

I hope everyone had a great Easter!

I don’t know about your family, but my family is literally just a group of the loudest, most sarcastic people in the world. And I enjoy every minute I get to spend with them.
Seriously though. I really appreciate every time I get to see my family because we always have so much fun together. It’s a little bit crazy and maybe a little overwhelming, but it’s always a good time.

After Easter dinner, we played this game where you write down a noun on a post-it note, stick it on someone else’s forehead, and then they have to ask yes or no questions and try to guess it. It gets pretty funny when your mom is trying to guess what a ‘pimp cup’ is and your boyfriend has ‘Zooey Deschanel’ stuck on his forehead.

IMG_20130401_104558

Easter dinner was wonderful, as usual. A plethora of carbs and desserts. My favorite.
I added to the carb overload and made beer bread dinner rolls. When piled with ham (or in my case, vegetables), cheese, and toppings, it makes one awesome sandwich roll. Guinness is my favorite beer to use when making beer bread, but really any beer will work.

20130330_164511

Makes 24 dinner rolls.

  • 6-7 cups AP flour
  • 1½ tsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 8 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1½ cups butter, as cold as possible
  • 2-2¼ cups beer
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 425℉.
Sift together 6 cups flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Cut butter into chunks. The colder the butter, the better. I used frozen butter. Throw butter chunks into flour mixture and cut butter in using pastry cutter or your hands. Keep cutting butter into flour until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Gradually pour in 2 cups beer and stir to bring the dough together. If dough is too wet, add up to an additional 1 cup flour. If dough is too dry, add up to an additional ¼ cup beer. Turn dough out onto a well-floured surface and pat dough out until dough is about 1 inch thick. Cut to desired shapes (I used a basic round cutter) and place on baking sheet. Brush each roll with a little bit of beaten egg. Bake 13-15 minutes until golden brown.

 

IMG_20130330_174746

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

