Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

Vegan Orange Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins

Common misconception: vegan food is gross.
I know most people think that vegan food is bland, boring, tasteless health food.
I thought so too, until recently.
I’ve been vegetarian for almost five years, but have stayed far away from vegan food. While living in Pasadena, I found a vegan restaurant within walking distance from my apartment. I tried it once and fell in love. It became a weekly staple.

They had such a variety of foods, including BBQ sandwiches, pho, chicken wraps, steak sandwiches, and an endless list of salads and soups.
Being vegetarian, I’m used to eating tofu and fake meat. But this food was so good, that even my non-vegetarian boyfriend couldn’t believe that it was vegan. The meat had the same taste and texture as real meat, and the spices and sauces were so flavorful.
This restaurant got me thinking more and more about vegan food. And then I thought about vegan baking. And I started to experiment.
Make these muffins, and I guarantee you won’t be able to tell that they are vegan.

Makes two dozen mini muffins.

  • 2 cups AP flourIMG_20121003_123146
  • ⅔ cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 cup orange juice (freshly squeezed)
  • ½ cup coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp. orange zest
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp. almond extract
  • 1½ cups vegan mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375℉.
Sift flour, baking powder, and baking soda. Stir in salt and sugar. Mix oil, orange juice, orange zest, vanilla extract, and almond extract. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix well. Fold in mini chocolate chips. Fill greased mini muffin tins ¾ full. Bake 20 to 25 minutes. Eat. Enjoy. Be amazed that vegan food is actually delicious.

2 comments on “Vegan Orange Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins

  1. E
    July 2, 2013

    These were good. Thanks! Is this your recipe?

    • britwolfe
      July 2, 2013

      Thank you so much! It is adapted from an old recipe I found in my recipe collection. I’m not entirely sure where it originated from.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

