Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

Italian Buttercream

Life has been so crazy lately, I feel like I have no time to photograph any of my work or even type out the recipes for you guys. Between work, school, and working on my school portfolio, this blog has fallen to the bottom of my priorities. But no more! Updates coming soon.

I will be the first to admit, I am not a cake decorator. It’s just not something I enjoy, nor have I practiced enough to be good at it. Cupcakes are easy. Full-sized cakes, not so much. But thankfully, we have had a full week to practice our piping and assembly skills.

The Italian Buttercream that coats the outside of this cake is absolutely delicious. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but very easy. And all the ingredients are very basic!

  • 8 oz. egg whites
  • pinch of cream of tartar
  • 12 oz. sugar
  • warm water
  • 20 oz. butter

Whip the egg whites and cream of tartar on medium in a mixer until the egg whites are foamy. Turn the speed to high and whip until the egg whites reach medium peaks. Meanwhile, add sugar to saucepot and add enough warm water to make the sugar resemble wet sand. Heat the sugar and water over medium heat until the sugar reaches 240F. Switch the mixer to medium speed, and pour the hot sugar into the mixing bowl in a steady stream. Once incorporated, switch the mixer to high. When the mixture is cooled down but still slightly warm, throw in chunks of butter and whip until light and fluffy.

Now try not to laugh at the fact that my cake looks like it was decorated by a child.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

