Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

Italian Hot Chocolate

I didn’t plan on sharing this recipe. I just whipped up some hot chocolate, threw some marshmallows on top, and torched the crap out of them, just the way I like it. (I like my marshmallows completely burned, to the point of being crispy. I know, I’m weird.) But this recipe turned out so well that I knew I had to share it.
Anyways. This hot chocolate is so delicious. It is thicker than normal hot chocolate, almost like a mix between chocolate pudding and hot chocolate. It also has a nice little kick of heat from the cayenne.

  • 6 tsp. cornstarch
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ cup water
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 4 cups milk
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of ground cayenne pepper

Start by adding the cornstarch to a large saucepan. Stir in the cocoa powder and water and turn the heat up to medium-low. Add the sugar and mix well. Slowly stir in the milk, whisking constantly. Add the cinnamon and cayenne pepper and keep stirring until thickened. Pour into cups and top with whipped cream or burned marshmallows (;

One comment on “Italian Hot Chocolate

  1. the Jilb
    September 28, 2011

    This looks great! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2011 by in Recipes and tagged , , , .


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

