Baking with Whiskey

Recipes and ramblings.

My story.

Hello, everyone!

Welcome to Baking with Whiskey, my attempt at tracking my culinary adventures and favorite recipes, with a few personal stories and pictures thrown in. Let me begin by telling you my story.

My name is Brittany. I grew up believing I was going to be a hair and makeup artist someday. Because I have always been creative (and obsessed with changing my ‘look’ almost daily), I believed that it was my destiny. When I was younger, I wanted to be famous and travel the world doing hair and makeup for runway shows; I loved the glamour and the lifestyle. But as I entered my teenage years, I traded my sparkly eyeshadows for kohl black eyeliner, and never strayed from looking like a raccoon at all hours of the day.

I went through high school still believing I was going to cosmetology school, but my motives became different. I was no longer interested in traveling the world with supermodels. I was more interested in doing A Clockwork Orange-inspired makeup and molding my personal, everyday makeup after Marilyn Manson. I had no real motivation or plan on how I would actually enroll and complete cosmetology school, I always thought it would just happen.

Meanwhile, I was cooking almost daily. I would come home from school and cook, and I enjoyed it. Cooking was never a challenge. It was always relaxing, and more importantly, fun.

I continued on to graduate high school, but still made no plans to enroll in cosmetology school. I finally retired my thick eyeliner and purple hair (thankfully!). It was about here that I took up a job at Nordstrom, at the espresso bar. Working at the e-bar was amazing. I got paid to make, drink, serve, and invent coffee drinks, I got to work outside all day, and I got to meet new people from all over the world on a daily basis. It really was an amazing job.

Fast forward to about four months after graduation: I was working full time, still planning on going to cosmetology school, but still not enrolled or really even looking. I decided to just pick a school and get it over with. After making (non-refundable) registration payments at two different schools, I finally settled on the Paul Mitchell about forty-five minutes away from my house. I was satisfied, but nowhere near excited. I figured I would get excited once I actually started class.

Meanwhile, I was cooking more and more. I was teaching myself how to bake, and I was starting to create my own recipes. It was my outlet for stress, anger, sadness, everything. I have always felt most comfortable with a whisk or spatula in my hand. I even started taking pictures of some of the recipes I cooked and created.

Fast forward to about three months after that: cosmetology school started less than a month away, and all I had done was make a registration payment, nothing else. I was making myself a coffee at work, talking to my coworker about our plans for the future. I told him that I was planning on cosmetology school, but I really had no interest anymore. He said, “Don’t think, just answer. What could you see yourself doing every day for the rest of your life?” I didn’t think, I just blurted out, “Cooking.” And that was my revelation.

Fast forward to today. I am still working full time, but enrolled at Le Cordon Bleu in Pasadena to specialize in Patisserie and Baking. I start in September, and I could not be more excited.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Navigation


I'm Brit Wolfe and I really love food.
Bon appetit!

Enter your email address to follow Baking with Whiskey and receive notifications of new posts by email.

